God’s Love Language

The Author

Geoffrey is a catechist, cantor, and subdiaconate candidate at Our Lady's Maronite Catholic Parish in Austin, TX. He is also a Camaldolese Benedictine Oblate. As a twenty-six-year-old graduate student at Texas State University-San Marcos, he lives the evangelical counsel of poverty by force of circumstance, not by choice. When not consuming ramen noodles or writing papers, Geoffrey enjoys learning about everything. As a mathematics educator, he is passionate about teaching the next generation the skills they will need to successfully navigate a rapidly changing world. He loves science fiction literature and hopes that some of its more positive ideas will become a reality within his life time. He also blogs at http://lestweforgetourselves.wordpress.com. Check it out!

Bible pages folded like a heart

Many of our readers have probably heard about Gary Chapman’s five love languages: gifts, quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service, and physical touch. For those who may be unfamiliar with how these work, here’s a hilarious introduction to how they don’t work (you know you want to click this link!)

Have you ever wondered about God’s love language? How God prefers to give and receive his love? As Christmastime draws near, it’s only natural to think about this. And personally, I believe God speaks all five love languages fluently! Here’s some Biblical examples of our Lord’s multilingual love at work:

Gifts: What gift could possibly be greater than our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ? “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life” (John 3:16).

Quality Time: One of the easiest places to find God is in the company of good friends. “For where two or three are gathered in my name, there [God is] among them” (Matthew 18:20).

Words of Affirmation: God’s Word tells us that we are all “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14). Jesus also says, “No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you” (John 15:15).

Acts of Service: God died on the cross to make the forgiveness of our sins possible. “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends” (John 15:13).

Physical Touch: Christ’s touch makes us whole. Along with the hemorrhaging woman in the Gospel, we can confidently say, “If I only touch his garment, I will be made well” (Matthew 9:21). And what better way to touch our Lord than in the Holy Eucharist, where God continues to meet man in the flesh to this very day?

Christmas Landscape

This holiday season, my family and I plan to start a new tradition to reciprocate God’s awesome love. We will show our love for Jesus by showing our love for five other people, respectively, according to the five love languages. For example, for physical touch, I might randomly hug a stranger. If nothing else, I’m sure it will make for a great conversation starter!

Advent Challenge!


My Advent challenge for you is to introduce this crazy new tradition to your own family! Pick five (un)lucky people and sneak attack them with love! The more cooky and creative you can be with your ideas, the better. The main thing is to have fun and grow in fellowship with each other and with God.

Bookmark and Share
  • Trenton Henrichson

    When I was a 20-something I never understood the obsession with the love languages thing…. Now that I am no longer a 20-something I *still* don’t understand the obsession with the love language thing. But at least you found an interesting [and use full] way to make use of it.

  • http://lindsayloves.com/ Lindsay

    I am a total believer in love languages. It makes perfect sense that God would speak them all!

Recommend this Post